beauty / Makeup / Reviews

Spring picks: Bourjois rouge edition velvet lipstick

Now, as you all know we are very well and truly into Spring. And I have been loving starting to do my makeup with a little more of a colourful touch. The dark bronze and red shades have been ditched, and recently I have been really getting into more sparkly pink shades ( I have never been a real pink lover) especially for lips. Now, lipstick has always been a continuous struggle for me, shades either don’t fit my skin tone, or if they do the consistency of the lip product is too horrible for me to wear. But I have found what has got to be my favorite lip product for Spring, by bourjois. To really match my skin tone and have a nice consistency. Today, I am talking about the bourjois rouge edition velvet lipstick in shade ‘ don’t pink of it ‘.

 

packaging | For me, one of the nicest things about this product is the packaging. I absolutely love the look of it.The main packaging is made of clear plastic which means you can easily see the shade inside, and it also makes the product look much classier and high-end. The lid of the packaging is a solid plastic colour of the shade of lipstick, which also really helps when you want to see if the shade will match your skin tone in store. The applicator to this liquid lipstick is a basic lip gloss style applicator, which is really great for getting the perfect shape of your lips, and for me, is so much easier than using a lip product in the shape of an actual stick. One of the things I love the most about this product’s packaging is its simplicity. The simple black lettering, and simple casing make the product seem very classy and very aesthetically pleasing. We all know I am a sucker for good packaging.

price| You can purchase this in boots, superdrug or other drugstores for around £9.99

product | The consistency of this liquid lipstick really did surprise me. Unlike others, the boujois’ consistency is extremely creamy, and feels very silky when applied. The product is very pigmented. But does come out a little darker than the shade you see in the packaging, so be sure to swatch the shades in the shop. One layer of the product gives a really lovely natural look, but the colour is pigmented enough to cover your whole lips. Although I often like to use two coats, just so the colour is bolder, and the lining of the lips is sharper. When this lipstick is used without lip liner it does not bleed or smudge, and the applicator can be used to define the lines of the lips, so that is a huge bonus if you dislike lip liner. The finish of the product claims to be Matte, and does not feel dry on the lips. When I first tried it I originally thought it would feel completely dry on the lips, but it doesn’t. The finish does appear completely matte, which looks extremely gorgeous. But the lip colour does stay sticky for a while on the lips.

overall | Overall I absolutely love love this liquid lipstick and I am definitely purchasing another shade. The shade ‘don’t pink of it ‘ is my perfect spring pink colour and suits my skin tone really nicely. I am head over heels in love with the shade and the matte finish just looks so gorgeous. The only downside of this product is the slight sticky feeling of the consistency on the lips, but it is nothing huge that completely puts me off the product. I really recommend that you try out this shade as it is really gorgeous, and such a lovely product for Spring.

Thank you so much for reading.

Please like, comment and follow my blog, it means the world to me.

I hope you are all having a wonderful day and a great Spring.

Love, Misstery

21 thoughts on “Spring picks: Bourjois rouge edition velvet lipstick

Leave a Reply

